What is it like to die?

I wonder what’s it’s like to die.
To know you will never see the sun again
To know that you will never laugh
Nor cry
Nor smile at another’s love and happiness
I wonder what’s it’s like to say good-bye
And know that they will be the last words you’ll ever say
I wonder if I’ll be sad when it’s time for me to go
Or content because I served my purpose
Will I have regrets?
Or will I just have happy memories
Of love
Of happiness
Of desire…
Is there life after death?
And if there is, what will I find?
And if there isn’t:
Where will I go?
Will my soul just drift throughout remaining time
Will it be wedged into someone else?
Will I remember anything that occurred in the short time I lived?
Or will it be faded into memory, into the abyss of history?

Leave a Reply

