Do Something Already

Sometimes, when I’m bored, I go up to my room and turn off the lights. I change out of my day clothes and open the windows and light a candle and I stare up at the ceiling and just think. That rarely happens, as I’m wasting out in front of the television or depressingly scroll through my Facebook feed. and so I get to thinking: what is the point of all of this? I mean, we’re all going to die, so it really doesn’t make a difference on how you live your life, but for the sake of argument I will say this: your life matters and how you live it matters.
So why do we care about the car we drive and how many friends we have? If the way you live will make a difference in the world and if you genuinely believe that your life matters, then why in the fucking hell are we sitting around on our asses reading about a friend of a friend of a friends’ latest Sim City ground breaking score? If we think that our lives have purpose and meaning to others: then why are we not doing anything? I think the problem with American society is that we take for granted our place in the world so we don’t really think that we have to work hard to get respect or money. I will say this though: we have a reason to be entitled but for the sake of argument we’ll remove the socioeconomic circumstances.
I can’t stop laughing at how many ways we all waste our lives. Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Youtube. They all have a great function, in theory. But in when you take a look what’s going on in the real world practice of various social media, the whole point of it is to advertise yourself, “oh look at me! I’m so sexy,funny,sweet,etc!” We put up a front of being awesome, but we’re not being awesome organically. We stage our lives, wasting them to compete and to be perfect. Our lives matter, but we treat them as a game. We treat them as a sport. “Oh! Let’s try this! Oh! Laura has that shirt, I need to buy it as well.” And when we do volunteer work, it’s only to show off, to make friends (I’m guilty of that…), to put on our resumes that other people will do, and really, just act for the sake of appearances, not because we genuinely want to make people’s passage through Earth easier. That’s one of the reasons why I haven’t volunteered yet. There’s nothing I truly care about yet to really do that. So I’m part of the problem. However, I found several charities that look like I would enjoy helping with, but I think my Government teacher wants us to volunteer for credit, so I’m not sure I’ll enjoy it as much.
I’m not one of those “high and mighty” people who are above my criticism. I’m not. I do nothing, I work on homework, chat on Facebook, write this damn blog. I admit it! I do nothing, and I admit that I’m part of the problem. I’m wasting my life doing things that won’t make me live any longer or make me any happier. I don’t volunteer, I don’t play an active part in my community, I read day and night but it doesn’t benefit society.
So the point of this post?
DO SOMETHING ALREADY!!! Become educated, and become passionate. Talk, make networks that you cherish and GET OFF OF FACEBOOK!!! Just don’t even think about clicking that log-in button. Don’t freaking advertise yourself everywhere unless you genuinely want to get people into your organization. Don’t put something on an application unless you genuinely care about what you are doing.
Don’t waste your time/life documenting your existence. It’s boring anyway.

Leave a Reply

